Proposal: AGI monetary policy to drive long-term network value

Hi everyone !

I have been following the SingularityNet project for more than a year now and I’m very impressed with what has been done on the product and business development side. Kudos to the team !

I still think however that the network misses one key thing to achieve its tremendous potential: a clear, “game-theoretic” incentive to hold AGI Tokens on the (very) long term.

The SingularityNet Whitepaper 2.0. focuses mainly on the SingularityNet platform and on high level AI services but leaves key questions:

What will drive long term token value ?

Saying that JUST increased demand from buyers of AI services will push up the price is a flawed answer as it leads to my second question:

Why shouldn’t any AGI Holder - investor or data scientist earning tokens on the network - sell at any given moment ?

Yes, if I’m a data scientist earning a salary thanks to the SingularityNet, I’ll need to convert my AGI back to fiat to pay my bills. What incentive do I have to sell less than 100% of the AGI I make ?

To set things straight, I believe the long term price appreciation is key to the success of any project like this one. Price is what drives media coverage, enables infrastructure/platform funding and makes sure that different stakeholders (miners, investors, service providers, users …) have a good (monetary) reason to collaborate and to create a virtuous cycle.

Pure crypto-commodities, aka utility tokens, have little chance of sustaining high prices on the long run, as the fiat-denominated price of what they enable is by nature deflationary (eg: the fiat-denominated price of a unit of computing power is fundamentally getting cheaper as computer chips are getting more efficient).