Making real AI

OK, I’m going to fumble this a little, but please bare with me. I’m not a programmer, just a psychology major with a consistent invested interest in AI… So I’ve heard people say that we don’t yet have “real artificial intelligence” which I think is debatable, but there’s one thing I have noticed not really being discussed. Even when your talking with an AI chat bot, (one that purportedly has the ability remember you and remember information it’s presented with) it doesn’t seem to have any sense of general context. And I don’t exactly know how this would be achieved, but from a psychological standpoint it would seem that, at least when the human brain remembers a person, thing, or topic of discussion, what it’s doing is generating an internal representation of that person, place, thing, or topic. But it’s more than that. It’s giving that thing some sort of significance. It’s relating that thing to the rest of the knowledge in its system. For instants win someone tells me their name, like “hi I’m Jessica“ my subconscious immediately goes over stand-out instances in my life of people who bare the name Jessica and puts it in context with my experience. This, among other subconscious workings triggered by the interaction, causes me to create an internal representation of that person before I even know them. I’m not sure where I want this conversation to go, I think I just want to get people talking. I’d especially love to get programmers with backgrounds in psychology talking, because I feel like this could maybe be valuable in terms of further development for conscious AI. Not to be a sci-fi nerd cliché, LOL.

3 Likes

ive suggested already that sophia should use all of the texts from all of the singularity groups and marry their pics to get a great human insight to thinking people! dont know if shes doing that yet or even if she is capable. by the way she is real…

2 Likes