Kia ora whanau(Hello family) - Ko Kodee Ahau(I am Kodee)

Ko Hikurangi toku Maunga (Hikurangi is my mountain)
Ko Waiapu toku awa (Waiapu is my river)
Ko Horouta toku waka (Horouta is my canoe that my ancestors traveled on)
Ko Ngati Porou toku iwi (Ngati Porou is my tribe)
Ko Kodee Ngatai ahau (I am Kodee Ngatai)

Hey everyone my name is Kodee Ngatai and I come from a place called New Zealand. I’m of Maori decent and in my culture it is typically custom that when we introduce ourselves through the above script typically called our pepeha. We first acknowledge our ties back to our tribe and defining characteristics of our tribal areas such as our mountains and river. The pepeha it holds significance because we are are all children of our ancestors and mother earth.

For 8 hours of the day I am a solution architect, for the other 16 hours I am a family man and for ever learning student of the incredible future that AI->AGI will unlock.

I currently on a mission to build AI capability within our first nations people starting with my own culture and hopefully working with other cultures to help seed AI with all our collective cultural wisdom, knowledge and heritage. In my culture we believe everything in this universe has ‘Mauri’ or a life force and this include AI.If we seed AI correctly In the not to distant future I can picture a world where AI beings will be able to express their ‘pepeha’ the story of where they came from. I will post more in the projects page

Mauri Ora(Forever health and well being) to you all

11 Likes

Hey Kodee!

it’s amazing to see people from all over the globe gather around the idea of beneficial AI and enrich all others with their cultural background. So I’ll try to follow your example:

The Lonely Mountain is my mountain (spiritually speaking)
The Isar is my river
My ancestors seem to have travelled on their feet, so no canoe …
The Upper Bavarians are my tribe
I am Sebastian Keller