Do we need AGI for machines to be truly creative?

I’m currently studying AI and music for my final year project next year at uni (studying Creative Music Production). Had a pretty interesting talk with my professor the other day who seems to think it’s impossible for machines to be truly creative, especially in regard to music as there’s so many variables and because it’s so subjective. I think he’s getting confused with current ANI and what AGI could bring but even when I tried to explain the difference he seemed to still think it was impossible for machines to ever be truly creative. Could ANI even be enough to unlock creativity though? AlphaGo seemed to be onto something.

Was this move a sign of true creativity for example? Move 37!! Lee Sedol vs AlphaGo Match 2 - YouTube

Cambridge dictionary meaning of creativity: the ability to produce original and unusual ideas, or to make something new or imaginative.

Seems like that’s what this move was to me, especially since brute force logic doesn’t work with Go. Although of course music is much harder still, it seems like we’re going in that direction much faster than thought to many. Go seemed impossible for at least another 100 years to some notable people in the late 90s for example.

Any thoughts on the topic would be very helpful and I’m very interested to hear other opinions in general in regard to AI and creativity.

Thanks.

1 Like

Can you “program” creativity? Our brains do it. Nature programmed us to; Therefore, why can’t an AI brain/neural network?

1 Like

Hello Mike,

This is very interesting topic. I am also music composer and I work in music industry for 5 years. I make music for commercials, TV jingles also a lot of my own projects. I made about 600 tracks.

I am currently developing kind of automatic composing program in Ableton. I was analyzing my steps when I am composing what sounds I am choosing and what melodies I am making and how.